Looking Back 2013 – Counting blessings

“An unreflected experience is a lost experience”

2013 had been quite an eventful year for me.  Actually every year had always been eventful. Perhaps extra more this year especially I have Z now. Many people started posting on their FB, Twitter about their blessings in their lives despite the ups and downs. Is great to see people counting their blessings and it just send so much positive vibes around to do likewise and that includes me! So here goes…

A blessing to just spend time with my love ones enjoying fellowship, seabreeze and breakfast! (hur hur! As if such sight (referring a seaview breakfast) happens every weekend! Ha!)

A blessing to deliberately taking time off to reflect what my God had done for me. To admire my God’s creative works. To simply just dwell in His Presence.

A blessing to share home cook meals for my family love ones and my friends who want something yummy to warm their tummy and soul.

A blessing filled with so much fun and laughter *kinder surprise!* whenever I meet up with my secondary school buddies for more than 10 years.

Photo 31-12-13 10 52 12 pmPhoto 31-12-13 10 52 38 pm

A blessing with God’s people who loves me, accepted me, worked with me, labored with me and walked with me. Listening to my rants, rejoicing with me, weep with me and Encouraged me when I needed the extra boost. Blessed beyond measures 🙂

Then a very dear friend who will always remember to come and find me when she is in SG.

We had a such great holiday and we want to go back (anywhere) again.

When I had Z, i was really really (x100) worried for my career my business. I was really wondering how will this work out for us. We had no helper. Both sides did not remember how to care for a baby. I prayed … really hard. When we got ourselves a nanny, we had a small issue with the nanny. Then we hunted for another one without relying any recommendations. Just purely moving with faith and trusting God. Thank God we did find one. Not perfect. 8 months had passed, the nanny dote on Z and that’s more than enough for me. It had been quite amazing. Z’s existence opened new doors for me in my work. Something which I didn’t see it coming. I work harder than before because at the same time I had less time for my work. Motherhood hasn’t been easy. The learning curve continues to be steep. There were times I simply didn’t care, i simply just lie down beside him and slept with the little one. (of course he wasn’t pleased. He discovered that to make me wake up is to sit on my face). Nevertheless he brought much joy in our lives. Thank God for him. 

Back to my work – finally finally after so many years, I am doing something that I had been dreaming for so many years and it had finally come to pass. To give back to the society  by equipping and empowering people. I used my IT and “business” skills (there were times I felt what I had in my brain was really mediocre but Mr Lim said it wasn’t and it is God who have granted the talents for me.)  Many years i dreamt of helping the youth ministry, the youth at risks or the teenage mothers. Back in 2002, my idea of helping was to earn big $, employed them and teach them a skill. The idea was there but it wasn’t easy to fulfill. Fast forward many years, setting up The Shop City and even before the business made any income, we decided maybe we could see how we can reach out. We were aware of government grant that were available for us to tap on. Hence we researched and wrote a proposal. But we didn’t submit as we perhaps we should try out and see what’s the result and that will make our our proposal more sound and practical. My biz partner wrote to a few NGOs and surprise surprise not many were keen to work with us or felt that our project was not suitable for their clients. But God always have another plan for us. One of the NGO decided to meet up with us and find out more. After 3 months of meeting and planning (more proposals written), they accepted our proposal and let us do a pilot program with their clients. More planning took place (I started to think at times “why-on-earth-am-i-doing-this-when-my-son-my-husband-my-bed-gb-friends-deserves-myATTENTION-and-time?”) and fast forward 9 months, the pilot program kicked off in October 2013. We’ve shortlisted 2 clients who were ex-offenders to join this program. I am proud to say coming Jan 2014, they will be “graduating” and will be opening their very own online shop to sell their handmade items on a website after 3 months.

Was it a success? I don’t know (yet). But i know after getting to know these 2 clients and walking with them through for the past 10 weeks, I know i am doing something meaningful. To witness the growth in them was encouraging and kept me going on. Not to mention how God provided for these 2 clients without my ($) help. Praise God.

I’ll trust the Lord will continue to guide me as I map out the future of my businesses. So .. stay tune 😉

There you go – the blessings in my life 🙂 *smile*

2 thoughts on “Looking Back 2013 – Counting blessings

  1. You are such an amazing woman, PY! Really.. you are much younger than me.. yet more matured in so many ways.. And you have so much energy and so many ideas.. that it’s infectious! 🙂 I thank God for knowing you because He uses you to encourage me to be better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

